Sweet Grooves Records Shop

Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio
Now in your cart 7 items   
Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio
Alphabetic Search by
Format Text
By style

Create account - Password forgotten? Click here.


VV.AA. - Girls With Guitars Know Why!


Sello: Ace records


It’s guitars a go-go on this compilation of storming female garage rock from the 60s. There’s She’s thundering ‘Piece Of You’, which remained unreleased until 1999; the Chicks’ take on ‘The Rebel Kind’, penned by the mighty Lee Hazlewood; Sandy Edmonds’ fuzzed-up cover of the Pretty Things’ ‘Come See Me’; the Wrongh Black Bag’s electric ‘I Don’t Know Why’, and ‘Love Seems So Hard To Find’ by Debbie Williams & the Unwritten Law, which shows young Debbie had talent and confidence way beyond her years. More stunning she-pop comes from the Rums & Coke’s feisty performance of the Dave Clark Five’s ‘Glad All Over’’; ‘Nothing Can Go Wrong’ by the Bea’s; and ‘Quite A Reputation’ by the Chymes, supported here by the Turtles. Joe Meek fans will especially enjoy Glenda Collins’ ‘Thou Shalt Not Steal’, which features Ritchie Blackmore tearing up a storm on guitar.

If that wasn’t enough, there are gritty groovers by Goldie & the Gingerbreads with their take on the Kinks’ ‘Look For Me Baby’ souped-up as an organ-driven dancer, and the Debutantes’ slinking version of ‘We Gotta Get Out Of This Place’. “Chicks can’t play”, the young Ted Nugent once told Jan of the Debutantes, but they and the other guitar-toting girl bands here show just how empty a statement that was. The Belles appear with their only disc, ‘Melvin’ – a gender-swapped version of Them’s ‘Gloria’ – an original copy of which would set you back $500, and the snarling ‘Boy, What’ll You Do Then’ by Denise is another big bucks rarity. The magical trip that is ‘Stardust Come Back’ by Girls Take Over closes the album in a tribute to the recently departed Cindy Wilhelmi, the band’s songwriter and guitarist. So, go on, grab a copy. You’ll be Glad All Over.


Side 1

01 Look For Me Baby - Goldie & The Gingerbreads

02 Love Seems So Hard To Find - Debbie Williams & The Unwritten Law

03 Melvin - The Belles

04 Thou Shalt Not Steal - Glenda Collins

05 Quite A Reputation - The Chymes

06 Glad All Over - The Rums & Coke

07 Come See Me - Sandy Edmonds

Side 2

01 Boy, What'll You Do Then - Denise

02 The Rebel Kind - The Chicks

03 I Don't Know Why - The Wrongh Black Bag

04 Nothing Can Go Wrong - The Bea's

05 We Gotta Get Out Of This Place - The Debutantes

06 Piece Of You - She

07 Stardust Come Back - Girls Take Over



Para escuchar el disco y más información, visita la página.