Sweet Grooves Records Shop

Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio
Now in your cart 5 items   
Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio
Alphabetic Search by
Format Text
By style

Create account - Password forgotten? Click here.

Buy Now



Sello: Daptone records


Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings are no longer a must for all soul music lovers. Since their debut album Dap-Dippin' in 2002, the New York band has established itself as one of the most exciting bands in the world, both in terms of their explosive live shows and their unique sounding productions. Their latest album 100 Days, 100 Nights has sold over 150,000 copies worldwide. They return on April 5, 2010 with I Learned the Hard Way, their fourth album on Daptone Records. This album marks a significant step forward for a band that has almost single-handedly influenced the return to a more traditional sound in soul music today. Produced by Bosco Mann and recorded on an Ampex 8-track tape recorder by Gabriel Roth at the House of Soul, Daptone Records studios. The album exudes a warmth and spontaneity not seen since the golden age of Muscle Shoals and Stax studios. Sharon Jones' raw vocal power, rhythmic dexterity, sensuality and melodic command place her alongside Tina Turner, James Brown, Mavis Staples and Aretha in the canon of soul music. From the flamboyant horns that open the album with "The Game Gets Old" to the Sam Cooke-esque stripped-down style of "Mama Don't Like My Man" that closes the record, the Dap Kings elegantly navigate between rich, elaborate arrangements and simpler themes performed with subtlety and precision. I Learned the Hard Way takes the "Daptone sound" to the top

A1 The Game Gets Old

A2 I Learned The Hard Way

A3 Better Things

A4 Give It Back

A5 Money

A6 The Reason

B1 Window Shopping

B2 She Ain't A Child No More

B3 I'll Still Be True

B4 Without A Heart

B5 If You Call

B6 Mama Don't Like My Man



Para escuchar el disco y más información, visita la página.