Sweet Grooves Records Shop

Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio
Now in your cart 0 items   
Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio
Alphabetic Search by
Format Text
By style

Create account - Password forgotten? Click here.


THE PRISONERS - The Last Fourfathers


Sello: Big Beat


First-ever vinyl reissue of the Prisoners’ 1985 third album, on 180g transparent blue vinyl.

At this point in the band’s career, the Prisoners were taking new influences on board. The old favourites of early Deep Purple, Arthur Brown and the Small Faces were present and correct, but whilst signed to Big Beat Graham Day had picked up a large chunk of Kent soul LPs put together by Ady Croasdell. These led to some new influences that would show themselves over their next recordings.

The resultant album was the band’s own favourite. It opened with the magisterial ‘Nobody Wants Your Love’, co-written by Day and Billy Childish. It carried on through a series of nascent anthems, freaked out instrumentals and several stranger moments. ‘Whenever I’m Gone’, ‘Nobody Wants Your Love’ and ‘Who’s Sorry Now’ were all stand-out moments that fans of the band loved both live and on vinyl.

After a further album in 1986, “In From the Cold”, the Prisoners disbanded but they went on to have an interesting afterlife. Keyboard player James Taylor enjoyed chart hits with his acid jazz group, while Graham Day and Allan Crockford continued to make thrilling guitar-based music. When the Prisoners reformed in 1994 they were bigger than ever, playing to venues many sizes bigger than they had first time around. Their influence continues to be felt today.

A1 Nobody Wants Your Love

A2 Night Of The Nazgul

A3 Thinking Of You (Broken Pieces)

A4 I Am The Fisherman

A5 Mrs Fothergill

A6 Take You For A Ride

B1 The Drowning


B3 Whenever I'm Gone

B4 Who's Sorry Now

B5 Explosion On Uranus

B6 I Drink The Ocean



Para escuchar el disco y más información, visita la página.