Sweet Grooves Records Shop

Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio
Now in your cart 0 items   
Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio Inicio
Alphabetic Search by
Format Text
By style

Create account - Password forgotten? Click here.


JUDGE DREAD - Working Class 'Ero


Sello: Daily records


Judge Dread (authentic name "Alex Hughes") was an artist that broke record after record building up an unparalleled musical carreer. The Guinness Book of World Records credited Judge Dread for having the highest number (eleven) of banned songs of all time, that granted him deservedly the nickname of "King Of Rudeness", also he was the first white recording artist to have a reggae hit in Jamaica. To top all that, Dread had 11 UK chart hits in the 1970s, which was more than any other reggae artist, including Bob Marley!.
40 years ago, in 1974, Judge Dread released his second studio album, the outstanding "Working Class ´Ero" on Trojan records. At that time he was already hugely popular in the UK, several singles included in this album like "Big Eight", "Big Nine"and "Grandad´s Flanalette Nightshirt" registered very good sales in spite of having been banned by the BBC, but withot any shadow of doubt, the song that had a major repercussion was his politically incorrect cover of the hit by Serge Gainsbourgh and Jane Birkin titled "Je T´Aime (Moi Non Plus)" which, re-recorded, gave the Judge a Top ten smash in the summer in 1975.
Judge Dread says in his song "Dread´s Laws" that the three best things in life are; a drink before and a cigarrette after......maybe between these two activities you will find the time to listen to this authentic skinhead reggae classic reissued for the first time on vinyl!!!.
This reissue includes a full-colour insert featuring sleevenotes by Mark Brennan!.
Limited to 500 copies. (100 on blue vinyl, 400 black).

1. - Big Eight.
2. - Take Off Your Clothes.
3. - The Belle Of Snodland Town.
4. - The Big Five.
5. - Dread's Law.
6. - Big Nine.
7. - Je T'Aime (Moi Non Plus).
8. - Grandad's Flanalette Nightshirt.
9. - What Kung Fu Dat.
10. - The Big One.



Para escuchar el disco y más información, visita la página.